Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: .308 chambering issue driving me nuts

Default .308 chambering issue driving me nuts

I'm fairly new to reloading. By new I mean only one caliber, trying to develop hunting and plinking loads.

Started out with 168 SMKHPBT and have had alright accuracy. (Inside of 7 inches for 5-10 shot groups) Not quite down to precision and accuracy. I have been wanting to try and get a load down for Barnes TSX and or TTSX bullets, all 168 grain.

My issue is the OAL or the seating depth. All my cases I neck size only, and all my brass is all initially single fired factory ammo brass before I resize. Factory Federal ammo measures out at 2.8" OAL. and chambers with no issue. 100% every time. But once I seat my bullet for 2.8"OAL, and chamber it, it feels like its pressing on the rifling. And starts to fight fully engaging the bolt. It has to be at 2.7" in order to chamber correctly. It is frustrating as all hell because it tends to make every load a 'crush' load. which I'm trying to avoid at the moment. Any one have ANY idea on what the problem may be or any ideas on how to resolve the issue? Much appreciation for any info.

-Boots

P.S. My gun is a Rem. 700.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Go ahead and shoot them at 2.7". A tenth of an inch is probably not significant in its effect on accuracy. If you were shooting benchrest competition
    , Then I would say go ahead and neck size, and crush fit the bullet to the rifling. But for an average gun, it probably won't make much difference. And note I say PROBABLY. Not every rifle is the same. Your lot of Sierras may not be identical to the lot of Sierras that Federal is using.
    "A strong body makes the mind strong. As to the species of exercises, I advise the gun. While this gives moderate exercise to the body, it gives boldness, enterprise, and independence to the mind."