Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: bullet choice for grizzly over bait in 416 remington mag

Default bullet choice for grizzly over bait in 416 remington mag

I have 4 choices in that I believe are good and will do the job, just wondering thoughts on which would be best . The shot will probably be 25 yards. All bullets are 400 grain at 2400 FPS I am hoping for either a between the shoulder shot or a shoulder shot followed up with more in the boiler room.

The Hornaday DGX bullet in 400 grain is interesting because it is a round nose bullet with the nose flattened for more frontal space and it is supposed to be soft enough to open up but hold together. I like that large surface area.

The Barnes Vortex ammo 400 grain TSX bullet a lot of people swear by them as perfect and other swear they just pencil through.

Then the Swift A frame 400 grain hand loaded to 2400 fps a superb bullet. I have no experience with.

Finally Nosler Partition in 400 grain at 2400 this is what I have been shooting and the gun is very accurate with this load.

Consider getting closer.

I personally would choose the Swift A-frames for Grizzly bear. More penetration and better chance of getting an exit wound so if he does run you get more blood to track. Barnes-X wouldn't be bad either. I personally wouldn't use a nosler partition. The nosler partitions expands too much and the bullet tumbles after impact. Don't know anything about Hornady DGX bullet.

A .416 rem isn't big enough. Use a .700 nitro or go home!

Oků..seriously though a 400 grain bullet traveling at somewhere around 2,300fps of almost any description will have more than enough momentum to penetrate for the desired affect if you place the bullet properly. That said TSX and A Frames are better constructed/retain more mass than partitions. I have heard unfavorable reports on DGX as opposed to Woodliegh. How they compare with TSX or A Frames I'm unaware.

Brett