Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Canoe vs Jon Boat

Default Canoe vs Jon Boat

Good Afternoon everyone. I am in the market for a boat for the upcoming summer/fall months. I am a school teacher on the Yukon with a small family (3 yr old and 5 month old) and am trying to decide between a canoe or a jon boat. I have looked into getting a boat freighted out here (Lower Yukon/Kuskokwim Delta, though I am on the Yukon) but the price is scaring me off. I have a few leads on some "gently used" jon boats and a canoe already out here. The canoe has either a 3.5 hp or a 5 hp motor.

I'm leaning towards the canoe for efficiency and stealth but that Yukon is pretty big. I like the jon boat for set net fishing.
    I checked out the powerboat forum but not sure if that would be where I would want to look.

What is the advantages of a canoe over a jon boat? No one here uses a canoe b/c everyone wants the power and speed of a river boat. But I honestly like the slow pace of a canoe.

The primary object of the canoe is fuel economy.....slower yes .....but your probably paying $8/gal.

How big are the canoes out there?

I would be tempted to advertise for a large canoe/boat from folks that are floating the Yukon and would prefer selling their canoe/boat rather than shipping it out.

You would want a pretty wide stable freighter canoe. Most of the village used outboards that I've seen have been rode hard and....as long as you always head upriver, and you can paddle back home. A 3-5hp outboard is going to be pretty slow heading upriver on the Yukon. You may be better off with the Jon boat....

I considered the big freighter canoe but after checking out a few scott freighters at the boat ramp in Circle I was not impressed at all and it would not work for me and my family. I'm running a 20'x48" flatbottom with a 35hp Go-devil surface drive and it works great for me..................
    I once held the yardstick of anothers perfection, I threw it down and carved my own................