Thread: Unit 14C Upper Eagle River Black Bear Registration Hunt

Default Unit 14C Upper Eagle River Black Bear Registration Hunt

Hi,

Just got this registration hunt tag. Is anyone interested in going for this hunt together? We can both have a tag each and hunt for a bear each. I have never hunted anything before and would be happy to go with someone with experience. Thank you.

Quote Originally Posted by hunterwannabe View Post
    Hi,

Just got this registration hunt tag. Is anyone interested in going for this hunt together? We can both have a tag each and hunt for a bear each. I have never hunted anything before and would be happy to go with someone with experience. Thank you.
    If might be a bit early for them to be out
    Death is like an old whore in a bar--I'll buy her a drink but I won't go upstairs with her.

You're right, but because I am total beginner, I am looking for a hunt partner in advance to discuss about how it works, what I need to get to be ready etc. I am trying this particular hunt because it is in eagle river and I live in anchorage, so it should be less logistically challenging (my assumption, i could be wrong). Please feel free to advise as appropriate. Thank you.

If I remember that area right, you're in for a decent hike just to get within the boundary and the trail follows the low ground, not the high ground where you'll want to be. Contact BrianM on here, he's done a lot of hiking in eagle river area.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Born in Alaska: The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; surely I have a delightful inheritance. Psalm 16:6

Assuming you have the rifle tag, its 6 - 6 1/2 miles on easy trail to where you can start hunting. You will likely go a couple miles further. Look up, as in where the sheep are or higher. Lot of bears, beautiful country.
    Death is like an old whore in a bar--I'll buy her a drink but I won't go upstairs with her.