Thread: Barnes tsx bt question.

Default Barnes tsx bt question.

I'm pretty new to the whole reloading thing and just finished loading up some rounds for my .270 with Barnes 140gr TSX's. After seating the bullet one of the three notches (for lack of a better term) is still visible. My COAL is dead nuts according to the Barnes recommendation and so is my case length. The TSX's are a pretty long bullet and I could increase the seating depth and not create a compressed load but that would reduce my COAL and I don't want to go outside the lines being a noob and all. . Any advice is much appreciated.

I had the same problem as you, the band was right at the mouth of the neck. Because of it, I would get jams in my rifle. That's a rough spot for some actions! switch to a perfectly good, lead core bullet. This woodleigh protected point 180 grain 270 bullet, is probably shorter than that overly long barnes bullet:
    http://www.midwayusa.com/product/871...oint-box-of-50

Should penetrate as deep as a 30-06 180 grain load, or even better than those pesky lil 140 grain deer bullets.

Quote Originally Posted by mainer_in_ak View Post
    I had the same problem as you, the band was right at the mouth of the neck. Because of it, I would get jams in my rifle. That's a rough spot for some actions! switch to a perfectly good, lead core bullet. This woodleigh protected point 180 grain 270 bullet, is probably shorter than that overly long barnes bullet:
    http://www.midwayusa.com/product/871...oint-box-of-50

Should penetrate as deep as a 30-06 180 grain load, or even better than those pesky lil 140 grain deer bullets.