Thread: Ski recommendation

Default Ski recommendation

Hi all,
    i am new to snow sports but a very avid person, unfortunately I now very little about skis. I am looking for a recommendation on what to buy for the following application: I ski snowshoe semi tracked to off trail areas while hunting with my dog for small game. I'd like to cover more ground with less effort and be able to ski some hills as we'll. not sure if I should go with a full on backcountry ski or more of a touring ski? Again I am fairly clueless on this.

Quote Originally Posted by ferns View Post
    : I ski snowshoe semi tracked to off trail areas while hunting with my dog for small game. I'd like to cover more ground with less effort and be able to ski some hills as we'll. \.
    I like backcountry skis for the use you describe and I ski mostly snow machine trails and unbroken snow through the woods and fields. Look for fairly wide skis with metal edges- the BCN bindings are a little burlier and the boots tend to be more substantial as well. Be sure that your poles are slightly longer than what you'd use for groomed trails. A set of gaiters will help keep snow out of your boots when you bust drifts.

Some folks use telemark gear but I never got into it as I don't do enough down hill to warrant it.
    "I do not deal in hypotheticals. The world, as it is, is vexing enough..." Col. Stonehill, True Grit

Go in and talk to the people at AMH. Those folks know their gear in this regards and should be able to line you up with what you want to look for - be it used or new.

You will want Xcountry touring gear. The backcountry version has more width and metal edges. You don't need the heavy alpine touring gear. Both SNS and NNN systems have a heavyduty backcountry binding and boot setup. Don't get the lightweight Xcountry touring gear, this is more for groomed trails. Unless you want to ski the trails for fun and exercise, then by all means go light.