Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Other families?

Default Other families?

Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Aaron and I have a small family and want to find a few other families that want to go in on a idea. If I am not mistaken remote land has no restrictions? That it could be shared by more than one family?

I am interested in a remote piece of land with in an hour flight north of Anchorage, I am a pilot. I would like to have between 2 and 9 acres. I am hoping to be able to build a lodge with several cabins. Having a few greenhouses and maybe even small livestock, a portable sawmill and a few sheds would be nice. I have been studying about Alaska and have narrowed it down to where and I am interested in planning out and making the move by 2016 (giving everyone involved plenty of time to plan ahead)

A little more about my family and I. I am self employed and will be able to commute when need be to run my business. I was raised on a small farm and know how much of a farm I can have up there. My family is growing so they are not going to be little kids that need lots of attention and may decide to move out when college calls. I like the idea of a few other families for safety concerns, plus the size of the farm would need more than my family to run it.

The biggest idea I have here is to be off the grid and be able to provide as much as possible to the community. Of course I am not kidding myself to think we can have every thing we need there. I can fly us in as often as needed to Anchorage for any supplies, getting back to civilization or just a break from the farm. However I do think it would be nice for each family to have their own cabin and life on the farm so they can have their own privacy. The lodge would be more or less for the families to be able to socialize or mingle when they feel like it.

Those who come across this post whether interested in tid-bits of info to share or actually thinking of joining feel free to chime in.