Thread: Bringing an old shotgun back from the dead

Default Bringing an old shotgun back from the dead

Knives or guns, I love to restore old and neglected tools and to try new methods/techniques/products.

I acquired a Mossberg Model 185 D-C made in 1958. It is in very bad shape and missing the magazine but I know a source for a factory replacement. I plan to make a project out of restoring it. It is not a particularly valuable gun but I like a challenge. I do not intend to create a show piece but rather a functional and usable hunting gun.

There is no finish at all remaining on the wooden stock and it has some stains.

The bolt is pretty rusty.

And there is a good deal of rust on the outside of all the metal parts..

I would have thrown the gun away if it were not for the bore. I was surprised to find it shiny and in great condition.

I stripped the whole gun down and began the process of removing the rust and bluing.

I have never tried this product before but It was on closeout sale at Walmart for $2 a bottle so I picked up three of them.

It smells awful (sort of like rotten eggs and vinegar) and is a thick and sticky liquid once it touches the metal. I was surprised at how well it removed the bluing but it had little effect on the deep rust. I applied it with 000 steel wool.

I did the entire barrel and then used 400 grit wet/dry sandpaper to knock down the rust. The pitting was pretty deep but the rust remover worked deeper than I could get with the sandpaper.

It's hard to see but the pitting is visible.

I am a long way from being able to re-blue the gun but I couldn't help myself and wanted to see what it will look like finished so I did a small portion of the barrel. I don't think I will use this brand of bluing but rather something a little better from Brownells but I was curious to see what the metal would look like.

When finished with the test, I used the blue remover again and some steel wool to take off the temporary blue.