Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: barnes for grizzly?

Default barnes for grizzly?

doing a spring grizzly hunt up at alpine creek lodge in unit 13 in the spring, I located what I think is a great bullet but have seen some mixed reviews. I'm shooting 180 gr barnes ttsx through my 30-06. Wanted to get some opinions on that. I'm a surgeon with the gun no need to worry about that just as far as the bullets performance is there any people who say no go and why? thanks for your time and comments!

I shot a 8.5 foot brown bear this past spring and dropped him in his tracks.. 250 gr TSX, then shot a 6.5' interior Grizz this fall in unit 13 with a 225 gr TSX, dropped him in his tracks too. Thats the only bullet I shoot out of my guns for Alaska game. even worked well on antelope.. its all shot placement.

Steve at precise ammunition down in texas does my loading.

Good luck
    Quality Counts @ Dahlberg's Taxidermy

I have had nothing but great performance with TTSX bullets. I have used them on moose, caribou, bear and deer with one recovered from a moose. It was a 270 gr 375 H&H that weighed in at 261 gr when recovered. All game were one shot kills. Great bullets in my experience.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    If you think you're free, there's no escape possible.

So you think with an 06 this 180 gr bullet will do the job just fine? That's what I figured it's a great bullet but even a great bullet shooting out of a bigger caliber doesn't mean squat unless you put it where it needs to go

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk

before I moved to my 325wsm, I shot the 180 tsx out of my 300 win mag for years. It was flawless on moose, ox, sheep, caribou.
    In 1492 Native Americans discovered Columbus lost at sea

If I come across as an arrogant, know-it-all jerk, it's because I am

I have not shot a grizzly with a 3006, but I would if I had one. There have been many grizzlies shot with a 3006. The TTSX isn't the weak link. I probably go with a 200 grain though.