Thread: Help, stuck jag in barrel

Default Help, stuck jag in barrel

I know there have been others that have had this problem so I'm hoping someone has a solution. I'm very new to muzzleloader hunting and shooting. I just acquired a 45cal thompson center hawken style muzzleloader and decided to clean it real good before I put it in the safe. I oiled a patch put it over the jag and ran it down the barrel to see how clean it was to start with and got the jag stuck all the way at the breach end then the wood ram rod broke right at the muzzle end. I was able to get the ram rod out but the jag is still in there. The patch is now covering the threads and I can't get anything screwed onto it.... How can I get it out? There is no breach plug so I can't push it all the way through. Can I put a small bit of powder through the nipple and shoot it out?
    Any advice,
    Thanks
    Tony

Life is too short to pass up a day of hunting

Remove the barrel and push it out the breach end.

Quote Originally Posted by 0321Tony View Post
    I know there have been others that have had this problem so I'm hoping someone has a solution. I'm very new to muzzleloader hunting and shooting. I just acquired a 45cal thompson center hawken style muzzleloader and decided to clean it real good before I put it in the safe. I oiled a patch put it over the jag and ran it down the barrel to see how clean it was to start with and got the jag stuck all the way at the breach end then the wood ram rod broke right at the muzzle end. I was able to get the ram rod out but the jag is still in there. The patch is now covering the threads and I can't get anything screwed onto it.... How can I get it out? There is no breach plug so I can't push it all the way through. Can I put a small bit of powder through the nipple and shoot it out?
    Any advice,
    Thanks
    Tony