Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What distinguishes the different powders other than burn rate?

Default What distinguishes the different powders other than burn rate?

I'm fairly new at this. I see all these makes and models of powder, IMR 4064, IMR 4350, H4831, RL19... etc etc... I found a site that lists them all in order of burn rate, and I gather you'd want to use the slowest burning powder in an ultra-magnum that's lobbing a heavier bullet out a long barrel. But IMR 7828 is listed as one of the slower powders, so why would it be one of the powders recommended for my 25-06?

Well there is burn rate but also differences in how much gas they produce, energy density of the powder. You have low volume powders that make large volumes of gas, bulky powders that make little gas, and everywhere between.

Some powders need a higher operating pressure to burn efficient, some need less. Some powders like H110/W296 can acutely be dangerous without enough pressure, they can detonate rather than burning.

There are single base powders, multi base powders, coated powders, assorted shapes of the powder granules. All these things and more affect how the powder burns, off gasses, and what kind of pressure curve it will make.

Getting yourself a copy of ABCís of reloading is a very good idea, it covers a lot of this theory type stuff. We have had a couple very educational threads here too you could search out.
    Andy
    On the web= C-lazy-F.co
    Email= Andy@C-lazy-F.co
    Call/Text 602-315-2406
    Phoenix Arizona

Put their pressure curve high on the list of differences.

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.

Quote Originally Posted by northernalberta View Post