Thread: Canoe advise

Default Canoe advise

Good evening everyone. I'm new here.
    I'm a bush teacher having an itch to get out of the village this summer and fall (camping, hunting, fishing) and I hate begging for rides. I have convince the wife to let me get a boat but I'm on a very limited budget. Ideally I'd like to get a Jon boat with a a 30 to 40 hp and eventually a 75 plus, however my job depends on students and one never knows if I'll get to stay where I'm at. So I've been thinking about a canoe with a small outboard. I'm a big guy (250 but losing, down from 300) and I have to travel pretty far for federal hunting land. My idea is to have someone pull me out, then I can hunt the sloughs and explore and get myself back to the village. I'm on the yukon river but I'd be hunting the innoko river area (area 21). I'd basically only be on the yukon to cross it. I don't mind paddling the sloughs and I want to spend as much time out as possible. If I get a moose I would try to float it out but I'd have a two way radio to get help (I do have hunting friends with boats in the village).
    I mainly want the canoe to get away and be on my own program. If that makes any sense. I don't want to have to depend on anyone to take me out all the time.
    Am I crazy or is this doable?
    Recap:
    Purpose: hunting/fishing/camping (set met checking? Or is that idea insane)
    time:weekends possibly a week if I can get time off during moose season
    what size canoe/outboard should I look into? Going try buy locally first.

Towing a canoe is tricky. Think of it like a big Repala lure. If I was in your shoes I'd look at an Aire Traveler inflatable canoe with a transom. I think it'll take a 5hp outboard. An inflatable is easier to ship out, easier to haul upstream in someones boat and will float out a moose as long as you don't have a huge camp.

Quote Originally Posted by Boud'arc View Post