Thread: light weight outer shell wear?

Default light weight outer shell wear?

I cant decide what to buy for this spring hunt, I have lots of layer clothing that's high quality, but what about an outer windproof/waterproof top and bottom? I been looking at the under armour ridge reaper set, and the kryptek koldo highlander set. any thoughts on these or should I be looking elsewhere? thank you

http://www.kryptekstore.com/Koldo-Co...nder-P141.aspx

http://www.underarmour.com/shop/us/e...pid1238312-920

JB

I purchased the Kryptek Koldo set this fall. Lightweight, waterproof. and plenty of zippers for vents when hiking. I have no experience with the uderarmour but I am very happy with the Kryptek. Expensive but worth it.

Quote Originally Posted by Rod123 View Post
    I purchased the Kryptek Koldo set this fall. Lightweight, waterproof. and plenty of zippers for vents when hiking. I have no experience with the uderarmour but I am very happy with the Kryptek. Expensive but worth it.
    yea kryptek caught my eye because right now until 12/31/13 they have a sale going on where you can buy all the top and bottom as a set for a really good price. the koldo set is 337$ right now free shipping

your on the right track...any good goretex will work. i use mountain hardware (conduit series has served me well and is very lightweight) and i've also put a full set of cabelas "alaskan guide series" through the ringer these past two seasons...i've completely worn them out, but am VERY immpressed with the gortex they used and its toughness...theyve actually proved a little tougher than the mountain hardware (though heavier) they were given to me to test and wear for a filmed hunt or i wouldve never tried them due to price...turned out that theyre probably worth the price. i was impressed. and would definitely pay the money for them now.

ninefoot