Thread: Kuiu Icon 7200??

Default Kuiu Icon 7200??

Anyone here have one of these packs or used one in the past? If so, mind sharing your opinion on this pack? I've been eyeing the 7200 the past couple of months and have been thinking about replacing my Barney's pinnacle for the Icon for my sheep and goat hunts.

I would look at Kifaru's line of packs or a stone glacier before a kuiu for sure. With that being said I've never used a Kuiu pack, just know what I've heard. Kifaru and Stone Glacier have a much better reputation to my knowledge. What exactly are you looking for in a pack?

Quote Originally Posted by mtnclimber View Post
    I would look at Kifaru's line of packs or a stone glacier before a kuiu for sure. With that being said I've never used a Kuiu pack, just know what I've heard. Kifaru and Stone Glacier have a much better reputation to my knowledge. What exactly are you looking for in a pack?
    +1, I have no experience with the KUIU packs, but I have read numerous threads about trouble with the carbon fiber frame. I love their clothes, but from the reports and thread on the packs I have seen say that they don't do well with loads over 100lbs.

I have done several sheep and goat hunts with Kifaru packs and can say that they are top quality with outstanding customer service and I have heard the same about the Stone Glacier.

Thread listing dislikes

http://forum.kuiu.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3575
    Last edited by stid2677; 12-18-2013 at 07:05.
    "I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/

Matt,
    Here is a link (hopefully) to the 3:33 minute video explaining their modular pack system. Their packs are designed to carry up to 150#'s
    with their new carbon fiber frame of 11 1/2 ounces. I have their 7200 now and have only taken it on road hikes and of late, snowshoe hikes.