Thread: Downrigger Rods and Reels Help

Default Downrigger Rods and Reels Help

I am new to fishing SE Alaska, and could certainly use some pointers guys. I bought a 34' North Sea Trawler and will now spend my summers in Alaska. I would like to start targeting Halibut, Salmon and Ling Cod. If I'm trolling with downriggers what is a real good rod/reel combo for Kings and Cohos? I am not afraid of putting more cash down for an ideal setup. The consensus seems to be a 8'6" to 9' light to moderate rod. I do have Penn 330 GT's, and Shimano TLD 30A's. Are those Penn's strong enough for the big Kings? How important is it to have high retrieve ratio reels? And are my Shimano's good for Halibut Jigging/bottom dropping?

Any suggestions are certainly appreciated in advance,

Trawlerman

If you use braided line you can get by with much smaller and especially lighter reels. On my salmon rods I use both shimano charter special 1000's and I upgraded them to carbon tex drag washers and avet sx reels.

The tld 30 is a good reel, but it's much larger and heavier than needed. I've used tld 15's and 20's but eventually upgraded all of them to avet jx reels. With braided line you can put 300yds on a 2/0 sized reel, and the modern reels have sufficient drag to run 50-80# line.

Having jigged all day with a tuna stick with a 4/0 senator when I didn't know any different, and now jiggin all day with a much lighter rod and a 20 oz reel I will never go back to the old heavy gear.

High retrieve ratios really aren't important in Alaska and can be a detriment on larger fish. We don't speed jig and I find a 6:1 on the smaller reels and 4:1 on the larger reels to be about perfect, though a two speed with 6/3:1 is nice for fishing deeper water.
    Those that are successful in Alaska are those who are flexible, and allow the reality of life in Alaska to shape their dreams, vs. trying to force their dreams on the reality of Alaska.

If you have a tenuous grasp of reality, Alaska is not for you.