Thread: New to gun dog training

Question New to gun dog training

Hi im pretty new to posting on the forums, been reading em for months but never made an account.. anyways, i havre a 1 year old black lab that ive been attempting to train as a gundog for the past 6 months, a lot of the training has just been obedience as i really have no idea where to start with retrieving, i mainly just play fetch with bumpers but i have constant issues with his retrieve, its completely inconsistant, sometimes itll be perfect, sometimes hell turn around and run back with nothing, sometimes hell get distracted by something.. the list goes on.. i would be willing to pay for professional training with the limitation of not just sending him off for 4 months, while i do understand that would give me a perfect dog, my wife would kill me. any help or tips are appreciated

You might try to look at some intro DVDs or books. I used the Water Dog and Gun Dog books for my lab, and while some of what he suggests is a bit dated, the principles are all there. I think the books are around $15 (but I could be wrong). Another option would be to find someone in your area with an older dog that retrieves well. Dogs learn by example, so this might be a good option.

Your pup is at the age where they get distracted by everything. I found that short, focused training sessions were best at this stage, and I extended the sessions as my dog got older. That might be the cause of your dog being 'inconsistent.'

My dog was much the same as yours at that age. Working him with an older dog, actually focusing on specific drills, such as the T, double H and wagon wheel drills, and just getting him out on birds made all the difference in the world. He isn't exactly a field champion-level dog, but he can hold his own in a blind, so I can't really complain.

Good luck with your pup, and keep checking in with any more questions!