Thread: Salmon in freshwater

Default Salmon in freshwater

I am pretty new at salmon fishing having only fished for them the past two years and I have a pretty basic question. Will salmon bite an artificial lure once they get into freshwater? I have caught a fair number of pinks, chums and a couple of silvers and nearly all of them have been foul hooked. I don't target reds since it seems to be the general opinion that they will not bite a lure. I don't try to snag fish but sometimes they are just so many in a spot you can't help from hooking one someplace other than the mouth. I don't fish live bait. Am I fooling myself in thinking I can get them to bite?

I would appreciate some input for those of you who know much more than I do.

Thanks

The best answer I can give you is: yes, but....

Salmon tend to stop feeding once they leave the ocean, thus getting them to strike lures can be far more difficult in the fresh water. It does happen, though with ease that varies widely by species and circumstances. Reds are a great example of a tough species to entice in fresh water. I cannot honestly say that I have ever gotten a red to strike a lure in freshwater other than out of annoyance. I've heard many accounts of people doing so, so I'm not saying it can't be done, but I myself simply practice the lining technique to fill my freezer. If you practice, you can get them in the mouth every time.