Thread: shot group question

Default shot group question

I target shoot about once a week with my buckmark .22 pistol, i shoot 10,15yrds and avrage around a 1"-2" group.
    At what distance is normal for target and what size group.
    Im useing the .22 because im just getting into handguns, i also have a m&p 99mm,.357 and a .44mag.
    Iv shot handguns but not target.

It depends if you are shooting off a rest or offhand. for offhand with a 22 you are doing ok. For a 22 I like to be able to shoot 2 1/2" groups off hand at 25yards and big ragged hole at ten yards. For your 44mag I want 3"or less at 25 yards slow fire bench or offhand.
    Now left only to be a turd in the forrest and the circle will be complete.Use me as I have used you

I try to only shoot off hand i only use a rest to sight in.but i have my good days and bad days. On a good day i shoot 1" consistently on a bad day id say i shoot around 2 1/2-3" but thats only at 15 yds im trying to work my way out id say at 25 im at maybe 3" right now. Nxt month ill work on the 9mm. The .44 i bought for fishing up there dureing the summer id be happy with a 3-4" group as its a snub nose ruger alaskan so im not expecting it to be a tack driver.i try and pick up tips from the guys at the range. The 9mm has fixed sights and im still getting used to it. I haven't shot a handgun sense i got out of the army and all we had to do was score body shots.
    Quote Originally Posted by Amigo Will View Post
    It depends if you are shooting off a rest or offhand. for offhand with a 22 you are doing ok. For a 22 I like to be able to shoot 2 1/2" groups off hand at 25yards and big ragged hole at ten yards. For your 44mag I want 3"or less at 25 yards slow fire bench or offhand.

The Alaskan is accurate enough and yes 3-4" at 25yds is what I get with mine in 454.. With my Alaskan I only shoot one or two cylinders full on a range day as it starts going down hill after that.