Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Sheep Opening Change?

Default Sheep Opening Change?

Does anyone know if a proposal to change the general sheep season to an earlier opening has ever been submitted to the BoG? Personally I am in favor of an earlier opening (say July 15?) similar to sheep openings in some Canadian provinces. But what are some of your opinions? Would an earlier opening ever work here in Alaska? Why or Why not?

There are a number of proposals to open at least the resident season at little earlier this year. But those proposals have been in front of BOG for the last several years, and nothing has changed.

Significantly earlier seasons would certainly cause issues with meat care. Early Aug can already be a iffy.

Yk

Though I would selfishly support an earlier season (being a teacher, I'm pretty well hosed for sheep hunting, though I try to squeeze in hunts on the weekends), the reality is that it would either have to come with a shorter season or a faster move towards drawing permits statewide. If we kept the 41 day season in place, longer daylight hours and milder temps would lead to an increased harvest which may not be sustainable. I suppose the argument could be made that full-curl regulations would keep things sustainable, but it sure would lower the # of mature, legal rams left on the mountain at the end of the season.

I could see a 2-5 day extension happening if the right folks were on the BoG, but never something as early as July 15th.

i wouldn't see an issue with opening up all hunts for any species a few days earlier for resident hunters. they are opening up hunts in other states a couple days before the gereral opener for youths to hunt with less competition why not let residents have first crack at the animals in their home state. i think july would be a little early like brian said...too many days in the field would probably increase harvest or at least lead to a greater percentage of the full curl rams being taken.