Thread: dragging a trailer Haines to Anchorage in winter

Default dragging a trailer Haines to Anchorage in winter

Sorry about the cross-post... I'm just looking for advice before this weekend, and it occurred to me that not many people might read the "Alaska by Road" forum. Anyway here's my questions:

I'm taking the Bellingham-Haines ferry in the dead of winter (very end of January), from where I will be driving to Anchorage. Ideally I would like to take a small (5x8) cargo trailer behind the pickup truck. However I have little experience driving on snow and ice.

Can this reasonably be done? Or is this an incredibly stupid idea. I can have my stuff shipped if I have to, I would just prefer to be able to bring a trailer up to Anchorage. But not if I have to drive the 800 miles at 5 mph...

Thanks for any advice.

I have done it towing a 3 horse bumper pull trailer, it is very doable, but I have 20 years experience driving on ice. In my case, it was Jan, 2005, and it was a record cold... -72 in Northway, and -68 at Beaver Creek.

Some of my issues included a delaminating serpentine belt, and a rear xfer case seal blown out. I did 80% of the drive in 2wd. Since I was driving from AK to Mississippi via Haines and Bellingham, I took my studded tires off, and ran my summers. When it is that cold, the ice is actually a little sticky, and it wasn't too bad... I probably averaged 50 mph on the trip.

If I were you, I would have good studded tires or at least somewhat new stud less winter tires. Pack a set of tire cables just in case... You will be going through some elevation shortly out of Haines. If your truck is 4wd, great, helps with stability on the curves, but is not a cure all for traction. A front wheel drive car is actually better than a truck in 2wd.