Thread: Small Cargo Trailer Haines to Anchorage in Winter

Default Small Cargo Trailer Haines to Anchorage in Winter

The title kind of says it all. I'm taking the Bellingham-Haines ferry in the dead of winter (very end of January), from where I will be driving to Anchorage. Ideally I would like to take a small (5x8) cargo trailer behind the pickup truck. However I have little experience driving on snow and ice.

Can this reasonably be done? Or is this an incredibly stupid idea. I can have my stuff shipped if I have to, I would just prefer to be able to bring a trailer up to Anchorage. But not if I have to drive the 800 miles at 5 mph...

Your coming up in the coldest time! The road for the most part is good, from Haines junction to the border is the worst part of the road. If you could ship your cargo and don't have much experience in snow and ice that would be my plan. Have your truck checked out good battery, tires, pack a sleeping bag, some hi energy food, candles, good flashlight, tools expect -50 in the Yukon and possible rain and snow mixed in Haines. Not trying to scare you just the truth I drove those roads for a living it could be the best trip ever but "PLAN FOR THE WORST" a lot of the Lodges are closed that time of the year. Watch you fuel keep your tank topped. Remember you need a Passport for Canada and if you have a Bad record ( DUI/DRUGS/FELONY) you can't go through Canada. Long guns are ok all pistols have to be shipped. Take your time drive YOUR speed. Last I would buy the "MILEPOST" it is the Bible of the Alcan a great resource. Good Luck!