Thread: How much ice do I need for my quad?

Default How much ice do I need for my quad?

This is my first full winter here and I'm new to ice fishing.
    My question is how much ice before I can ride a quad out there?
    I went to the south launch today and drilled a quick hole near shore. I had 8" there, but I don't know a lot about the lake. Are there a lot of springs that are going to affect ice thickness?

Every lake is different. 8" is probably more than enough but you must be sure there is 8" across the entire lake or whatever areas you are driving on.
    Early and late ice are the most dangerous.
    Springs,inlets and outlets. current flow etc. etc. can effect the ice thickness and one spot can be several feet thick and yet there can be an open spring hole right next to it.
    On lakes I know well I will snowmachine on 8" of consistent ice if I know the lake well enough to avoid any known hazzards.
    "The closer I get to nature the farther I am from idiots"

"Fishing and Hunting are only an addiction if you're trying to quit"

As Chris says, 8" is the minimum I would be riding on.
    If you don't know the lake well, wait!!!
    I usually wait until there is 12" of ice on my lakes as I really don't want to die.
    There are still many places you need to be wary of as said inlets and outlets are pretty obvious but narrows are another current area where ice will be thinner. Springs are very dangerous as they don't usually reveal themselves unless it is very early in the freeze up and show as holes in otherwise frozen lakes. Swamps and marshy areas also have less ice early in the year that cleaner more open areas.

Generally I will wait until I see plenty of other tracks on the lake before heading out on my sled.
    I will walk out on 3" of ice though while testing every second step with my spud.