Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Methods for Dispatching Trapped Animals

Default Methods for Dispatching Trapped Animals

What are your preferred methods for dispatching animals in your traps? I have heard of various methods from strangling to kneeling on their chest. I am new to trapping and would prefer not to have a bullet hole in my furs. I imaging having a wolf or a lynx on the end of a strangle wire would be insane! Please share any successes or failures you've had with very methods.

Thanks!

A buddy of mine told me once how to do it without a snare or .22 pistol. After coming into my first successful lynx set a few years back I gave it a go and had good results.

I pulled a rotten birch tree/stump, basically a stick the size of my forearm and maneuvered it into a position to crack it over the head. Once it was stunned I put one foot over its throat and stomped its ribs, breaking them into its lungs and kept my foot over its throat. It's back paw came up and put a pretty good gash through my Carhart bibs, so I grabbed its paw and pulled up while holding my foot over its throat. It went limp and I checked it for life by poking its eye.

It was a pretty brutal way to go about it, but it worked really well with no pelt damage at all. After thinking about it, I figured it was a little too brutal for my taste and I started carrying a spare snare that was designated for just dispatching animals. A lot easier and less hazardous to my bibs...

for a live wolf or wolverine a 22 is the best option, for all others a snare pole is by far the best method unless maybe you have a lynk or coyote by the toe then a 22 might save you one getting away. It's best to shoot them behind the front arm as there is a market for skulls if there's not a bullet hole in it...............
    I once held the yardstick of anothers perfection, I threw it down and carved my own................

Quote Originally Posted by Ak_Predator View Post