Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need input on outboard jet for 16' SeaArk

Default Need input on outboard jet for 16' SeaArk

I’ve found a SeaArk 1652MVJT and am looking to power it. I am basically looking at 4 choices.

Yamaha 60/40 factory jet—big and expensive
    Yamaha 40/30 factory jet-not enough power?
    Yamaha 50 converted to jet—expense to do so? Drawbacks
    Tohatsu 50/35—two stroke; lighter weight

I’m leaning towards the conversion as it would be Kenai legal and some of the 4-stroke advantages as related to fuel; noise..) however I am new to jets and was wondering if this is feasible. Also don’t know how power vs. non-power trim and tilt play into the outboard jet world.

Would like to hear from anyone with strong opinions.

Thanks,

Peter

The 60/40 yamaha is an excellent motor, you will not be disappointed. 40/30 would be doggy with any kind of load, however if Kenai legal is a big deal to you, then go less. Purely from a performance standpoint, the 60 hp or even 70 hp yamaha powerheads would do great on that boat. I've had a 60/40 since 2006 and it is a stellar engine, much more torquey than you would expect and a world of difference between the it and the 40/30.

That said, if you find a decent 2 stroke 50 for a decent price, that would get you going much cheaper for starters.

Yamaha 40/30 is NOT a Dog! I have one on a 700# 1660 sled and it does very well with 3 people and gear. Good with more. It is NOT a MOOSE hauler, but it is a great affordable and competent jet motor for a fishing / camping machine. Been running one for ten years now and love it.

Quote Originally Posted by Catch It View Post