Thread: What kind of boat for southeast hunting?

Default What kind of boat for southeast hunting?

I just found out that I'm moving to Sitka but I've never been there before. I was wondering if I could ask for some advice on what kind of boat is needed for hunting in this area? I have some experience boating but never in this area and my experience is limited to mostly freshwater and hunting from a friends boat near Homer.

So what should I be looking for? Inboard, outboard? aluminum, glass? Size, HP?

What would be the minimum length in you opinion for these waters? I can afford to stay home if the weather is bad but I still want to try and be safe out there, and not get tossed around too much.

This would purely be a Hunting/Trapping boat. Not saying I wont fish here and there but that isn't what I want the boat for.

Thanks for your help. I know this is a very vague question but I don't have a bunch of experience in personal water craft, and i'm sure I will have more specific questions as time goes on.

There is no perfect boat, so it will be better to define your mission a little more and then factor in budgeting for money as well as time. My advice would be to link up with folks once you get into Sitka and see how things are done. I've been in AK over 20 years and in SE AK for just over 2. I have a 32' Bayliner with twin diesels. We hunt, fish and just cruise around on it. Depending on the type of hunting and areas I hunt I may tow a skiff or use a Zodiac to get back and forth. My boat sleeps six, has a full galley and head with shower (hot water on a boat is awesome) and has a covered cockpit. Really comfortable, but really slow. A smaller faster boat would definitely have advantages at times and could be more convenient. At some point I may look for an aluminum skiff in the 20' range with lots of deck space to add to my "fleet," just to be more versatile. It all depends on what you like and what works for you.