Thread: New Delorme "inREACH SE" satallite texting/SOS/tracking

Default New Delorme "inREACH SE" satallite texting/SOS/tracking

In my search for the latest information on Personal Locator Beacons (PLB) and Satellite phones for a long remote trip, I ran into the Delorme "inREACH SE" satellite device that has two way texting, SOS feature, tracking and a variety of other features. This SE model has only been out for a couple months. It primary difference over the previous model is that it has a small screen and can two way text without being connected to a Smart Phone. If it works, it has the "potential" for serving the purposes of a PLB and Satelitte phone for a remote trip. I have zero experience with this new device and would appreciate any information/recommendations any users of this latest version or the previous version have. Many thanks.

I stumbled upon the inReach SE when planning a Tok range sheep hunt this summer. After reading all I could on it, and talking with both the company and sales people, I thought it would fit the bill nicely. The cost was reasonable as well as the service packet I purchased. It was simple to setup / connect. I set various pre-set messages in my web-login user page, but still chose to interface it with my smart phone -- for ease.