Thread: House Wrap

Default House Wrap

Is house wrap like Tyvek necessary? Had a house builder out here in the valley said he stopped using it and would not recommend anyone in this climate putting it on there house. I'm at the point with the cabin build and need to put it on if I'm going to. Thanks for the input.

When are you planning on siding the house? If it will sit exposed for a long time, I would wrap it. JMO though.

I'm curious to read what others with more experience say about it. I think it helps combat wind infiltration and wind driven rain, but I can see where it might keep condensation moisture in the walls from evaporating as quickly.

I hope to have the siding on in the next few weeks. His comments were the same on the condensation. Said it won't let everything dry out as it should. I have no experience with building until this cabin. Reason I'm asking I have never seen anyone not use it before.

I was in Adak a while back and noticed a number of the houses literally falling apart. I'm not a builder so I can't comment on the cause, but one of the locals told me that they were built without an adequate vapor barrier. You can see from the photos that the studs and joists have literally rotted away, from the outside edge. It may be true that the inside lumber you used on your cabin won't dry as fast as it would without a barrier, but at what price? Better a slow dry than rotting studs later.

Here's a closeup of the same wall.

-Mike
    LOST CREEK COMPANY: Specializing in Alaska hunt consultation and planning for do-it-yourself hunts, fully outfitted hunts, and guided hunts.
    CLICK HERE to send me a private message.
    Web Address: http://alaskaoutdoorssupersite.com/hunt-planner/
    Mob: 1 (907) 229-4501
    "Dream big, and dare to fail." -Norman Vaughan
    "I have climbed my mountain, but I must still live my life." - Tenzig Norgay