Thread: water in the oil

Default water in the oil

i have an evenrude 70 hp four cylinder. fuel injected. i was winterizing the boat this last weekend and found the oil about two quarts to high and it was all milky, i have been running the ocean for the last ten years with it. i am a firm believer in preventive maintenance.
    i did a compresion test on it and all cylinders where at 175 psi. are there any mechanics out there that know this engine and can give me a direction to go in. gasket, witch one? any help would be appreciated.

More info please (two storke/four, and year), Since you are saying water in the oil, you are talking about the Suzuki 70hp fourstroke rebadged as an evinrude (?) yes? Otherwise you are talking about the lower unit (but then why mention doing a compression test).

If I am correct you may want to ask this question as a suzuki question, and maybe in another site's outboard forum. The Suzuki motors have a few places where gaskets may fail and get water in the oil. Since all of your cylinders are reading the same your compression is most likely good (what does the service manual say is acceptable compression?). If this is true look look at the other gaskets on the powerhead and leave the top end alone.

Sobie2

four stroke and it is a 98', top end, lower end is fine. i do not have a service manual for it yet, that is my next step. the research i have done this morning suggests that it was built by suzuki. thanks for the info.

Quote Originally Posted by Sobie2 View Post
    More info please (two storke/four, and year), Since you are saying water in the oil, you are talking about the Suzuki 70hp fourstroke rebadged as an evinrude (?) yes? Otherwise you are talking about the lower unit (but then why mention doing a compression test).
    Try getting two extra quarts of oil into a lower unit . . .

Better than oil in the water!

Your Friends at the EPA

Quote Originally Posted by Bering Nomad View Post