Thread: 21 yr old with a dream to fly in Alaska

Default 21 yr old with a dream to fly in Alaska

Hello all!

My name is Matt. I have always wanted to live in Alaska, and recently I have devoloped a severe interest in the idea of Alaskian avaition. I have little to no knowledge on flying and a simular amount on Alaska in gereral. This past summer I rode my bicycle across the continential US (3,800 miles) and next summer I am hoping to cycle to Alaska from my home in NJ to scope things out. (5,000 miles)
    Is it helpful to atend pilot school in Alaska as opposed to somewhere else?
    What kind of job availibily is there in this field? Or in any field for that matter?
    What is a normal amount of time for training to become an entry level pilot? And the cost?
    Is there particular flight schools that you would recomend?
    Is it difficult to start work imediately (in any field) upon moving from another state?

Thanks alot in advance! More questions to come. This is the only forum I could find online that looked like it could be helpful!

The real advantage to Alaska flight schools will be the "hangar flying", those student or instructor BS sessions that relate Alaska flying experiences. You won't find many opportunities to get flying jobs unless and until you have a commercial license and a few hundred (or a few thousand) hours on that ticket. Most pilots are able to get their private tickets in 50- or 60-hours, including both dual and solo time. The cost? Maybe $7,000 to $8,000, but others will have a better handle on that than I. Once here, visit the various flight schools and ask around for the "best" ones. And finally, anyone who is honest (that's a requirement!), hard working, and as a goal should do well while working on the flying time and ratings. And good luck with your dreams .............. !