Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Handgun shooting - accuracy goal?

Default Handgun shooting - accuracy goal?

I am tired of toting around a shotgun for bear protection while hiking/fishing and am considering buying a 44 mag. I have plenty of experience with rifles/shotguns, but limited experience with handguns. My question is: What size group can an average shooter expect to achieve when drawing and shooting 6 rounds relatively quickly? Lets say at 25 yards.
    I'm trying to set some goals to "shoot for". I don't want to swap out my 870 for a 6 shooter until I've established a decent proficiency.

I am asking because I know several guys that have packed hand cannons in the field for years, but I had never seen them shoot. I finally got them to unholster those bad boys and take a few shots. Lets just say that the bears are plenty safe when those guys are in the woods. In the time it took them to settle in and gather the confidence to pull the trigger, a bear would have covered 50 yards and had them for lunch. And their groups were halibut barn door size at best. Now that I've seen how highly inaccurate a pistol can be in the hands of someone that doesn't practice, I would like to know what kind of accuracy can be expected from someone that has paid their dues at the firing line.

Just google "Jerry Miculek video". Check my spelling on the last name. He "paid his dues" at the range a long time ago. 100s of thousands of rounds and numerous guns used to the bone, I am sure.
    "A strong body makes the mind strong. As to the species of exercises, I advise the gun. While this gives moderate exercise to the body, it gives boldness, enterprise, and independence to the mind."

Quote Originally Posted by gunbugs View Post
    Just google "Jerry Miculek video". He "paid his dues" .
    Gunbugs,
    Jerry Miculek is pretty amazing! But I doubt I can expect to match someone with multiple world records and championships to his name.