Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Alaska School Wood Working Decoys

Banned

Default Alaska School Wood Working Decoys

Honestly, This is the hardest to use web site and forum I have ever used and I have a lot of experience with sites over the years. Anyway, I tried to post photos of my decoys on the profile page and it seems to not have worked so well, so I will try here. I started making these when I lived and hunted waterfowl on the Tanana and Minto flats back in the mid 70's. You can see them for real in places like the Anchorage Museum.IMG_0345_edited-1.jpgIMG_0453_edited-1.jpg

Thumbs up

Nice work . . good looking birds . . nice paint job . .

. . what wood do you use, and are they hollow?

Wood decoys are really cool. Too bad they get so heavy cause they sure hold up better than the plastic stuff of today.
    Makin fur fins and feathers fly.

Banned

Marcus, I have tried many types of wood. Spruce - too brittle and checks like crazy, Basswood - fairly good - expensive, Sitka Spruce - pretty good, but hard to get here and expensive, Cottonwood/Aspen - Ok, but absorb water. Douglas fir - hard to work. Pine and Cedar are universally the best wood for decoys. Lately I am using Western Canada Pine with great results and Western Red Cedar for heads. These decoys are finely crafted, take a long time to make and are completely hollow to within an eighth of an inch of the outer layer and the heads are hollow. They are lighter for their size than many plastic decoys. To my knowledge they are the lightest wood decoys anywhere, ever. The paint is a unique blend I have blended over the years and has a built in texture that you cannot see in the photos. Give a rough, flat, realistic finish that is not typical paint smooth. Thanks for the comments.

Banned