Thread: Unit 20B Moose Luck?

Default Unit 20B Moose Luck?

This is my first time hunting for moose even though I've lived here for 15 years. Went up to Murphy Dome (all the way down to the river at the end of the road) and saw Nothing. Monday was out in Salcha and saw nothing again. Was curious to hear from other hunters in the area about their luck or lack thereof. No special spots need be revealed, but a general idea of area, what you've seen or taken would be appreciated. Thanks guys.

You're doing to much work. Going down Murphy dome to the river is too much moving. Find a hill top and sit there for a good 6 hours . Get there just before sun up and glass glass glass . Moose are spooked easily this time year especially that close to town because every Tom dick and Harry with a gun are out thinking they can hunt while they are probably on their 4 wheelers hauling butt up and down trails driving right past legal moose. I have seen it happen( and I have done it in my early years). Find somewhere that looks good and sit and glass. Moose will come you have to be patient . When i got here in 2004 I did the 4 wheeler method and didn't get jack crap then talked to some people that are giving the advice I am giving you. Every year after I went after moose I got one no more than 20 miles from town.

Thanks for the advice, that's the second time I've been given it and started to put it into practice yesterday. Unfortunately up on Murphy I wasn't the one driving. I wanted to sit in a good spot that we found but the driver insisted we keep moving to find one. I think I'm going to go out on my own and just camp one spot like you suggested.

Any luck on your part in the area this year?

This will be one of the only years I won't be able to get out and hunt unfortunately.