Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Where to buy Lycoming 160 hp

Default Where to buy Lycoming 160 hp

Total newbie to airboats, I've only been on one my whole life. My wife won't let me buy one, but she said I could build (because she thinks I already have too many projects...ha! Anyway, I looked at a 14 footer the other day that had one of these engines on there, and I think I could actually build it if I knew where to get an engine. So, does anyone know where to get one, or if there is a better comparable (horse power) option out there? Thanks for any help.

Me I Would Build One With A Chevy Motor One There Easy To Get Parts For Two There Cheaper To Buy Parts For Three You Don't Need Avgas To Run Them And Four You Can Hook A Heat To Them To Keep You Warm.

I liked the Lycoming because you just bolted the prop to the engine, I don't know too much about reduction gears or belts. Is there a good source to research that stuff.

What Would You Like To Know. 907-322-3291

With a chevy motor you never be under powered. Parts are cheaper less fuel. You can build pretty nice 350 for what a timed 160 costs
    Do I give my friends advice? Jesus, no. They wouldn't take advice from me. Nobody should take advice from me. I haven't got a clue about anything..

You don't need Avgas in a Lycoming engine. There used to be an 80/88 unleaded STC that let you legally run car fuel in your airplane. A Lycoming will run fine on regular octane.

Those other parts, don't hink I can argue. Aklthough, I will say this, that Lycoming will be a LOTTTT lighter and a LOTTTTT simpler, and a LOTTTT more reliable. Of course, I'm coming from an aviation background, not an airboat background.