Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: They met escapement???

Default They met escapement???

I saw the article in the ADN that stated that over 15,000 kings made it up the Kenai and that the goal was met. I have a question. Is 15,000 a real number? That seems very low to me but I am not an expert. any thoughts? To me it seems like if you cant hit your goal then lower the goal.

It's the new math; less is more.
    ...he who knows nothing is nearer to truth than he whose mind is filled with falsehoods & errors. ~Thomas Jefferson
    I would rather have a mind opened by wonder than one closed by belief. ~Gerry Spence
    The last thing Alaska needs is another bigot. ~member Catch It
    #Resist

Quote Originally Posted by kgpcr View Post
    I saw the article in the ADN that stated that over 15,000 kings made it up the Kenai and that the goal was met. I have a question. Is 15,000 a real number? That seems very low to me but I am not an expert. any thoughts? To me it seems like if you cant hit your goal then lower the goal.
    ADF&G has on their web site a link to the escapement goal report that set these numbers. Actually, the lower MSY goal is 13,000 but 2000 fish were added as a precaution against uncertainty in the counts.

Quote Originally Posted by kgpcr View Post
    What seems low to you? The goal or the run-size estimate? Or both?

Is the run-size estimate (15K) for the entire run for 2013, or just the LR?

It would also be interesting to know the % of the entire run of spawning adults that came into the river after July 31........

Quote Originally Posted by Cohoangler View Post

It would also be interesting to know the % of the entire run of spawning adults that came into the river after July 31........