Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Father and son- First AK trip and would love some suggesstions and ideas!

Default Father and son- First AK trip and would love some suggesstions and ideas!

Hi Folks,

Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Adam and this is my first time posting on the Outdoors Directory AK Forum. I just joined and have been sifting through older posts and soaking up as much information as I can. I am a big believer in firsthand knowledge and local suggestions and that's why I joined this forum...which brings me to my next point:

My father is turning 60 at the end of this month. Me and my family never have done much for him in previous birthdays, but I found a GREAT deal on flights to Alaska- and so that is where I begin. I am trying to throw together a trip to Alaska for me and my father to celebrate his 60th birthday. A father and son trip for the ages. Here is what I know so far:

• We will be in Alaska from Aug 29th- Sept 8th 2013 (yes, I know kinda last minute).
    • Flying in and out of Anchorage.
    • We have been fishing and hunting our entire lives, so we are no stranger to the outdoors.
    • We have never been fishing or hunting anywhere up North, let alone Alaska!
    • We're not picky, in fact we prefer more rustic and rural accommodations (as opposed to hotels and fancy lodges).
    • I'd like the trip to be focused around fishing.
    • We will have a rental car.
    • Were not rich! I am trying to keep things economical.

I have been to the local bookstore, ordered "The Milepost", and researched dozens of ideas online. Here is what I've learned so far:

• The weather in South Central AK in late August/Early September can be very fickle. Expect cold nights and cold days 40/60 F.
    • The Silver Salmon should be running strong during this time, specifically the Kenai River.
    • The Rainbow Trout and Dolly Varden also should be picking up.