Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: setting the prop

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Wasilla
    Posts
    515

    Default setting the prop

    anyone know where to get the gauge to set the angle of the prop's. set these with the marks on the prop and hub but was hoping to check with a gauge. thanks

  2. #2

    Default

    Use a digital level

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    3,246

    Default

    What prop do you have?

  4. #4
    Member akblackdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Wasilla
    Posts
    1,456

    Default

    I'm in Wasilla, have digital level, and have adjusted a couple different types of props, happy to help if I can. Give me a call. Bud 240 4090
    Wasilla

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Wasilla
    Posts
    515

    Default

    MacGyver, I have the wisper tips.
    akblackdawg, Thanks for the reply and offer.

    Thanks for the info guys. I am meeting some folks who say no problem they can set the props if I have them off but I am getting the correct rpm's and I am told the marks on the prop and hub are plenty good for prop set so Maybe I got it right after all.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    3,246

    Default

    I'm no experts when it come to setting a prop. I've been told by guys who are that you clamp a stiff wire on the cage that just touches the top of a blade. Now rotate the prop and see if the wire touches the other blades in the exactly same spot. If they do all the blades are set the same and you will not have a problem with vibration.

  7. #7
    Member skip olsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Fairbanks Alaska
    Posts
    216

    Default

    Hi There If You Get Your Self A Digetal Level From Sears And Us That You Can Set Each Prop The Same, Talk To Bud Since He Is Closer To You Then I Am And He Can Show You How To Do It. The Level Cost About 30 Buck And You Can Set Any Set Of Props. That Way You Don't Have To Get Up By The Hub And Try To Line Up Marks. If You Got Questions Give Me A Call 907-322-3291

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •