Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: anyone have a 30 carbine bolt action or lever rifle??

Default anyone have a 30 carbine bolt action or lever rifle??

anyone have one of these?

Interesting, I'm no expert, but I don't believe I've ever heard of 30 carbine anything other than the autos and the Ruger SA Revolver.

Quote Originally Posted by DoughNut View Post
    Interesting, I'm no expert, but I don't believe I've ever heard of 30 carbine anything other than the autos and the Ruger SA Revolver.
    The Marlin Model 62 or a 94 Winchester. A levergun in 30 carbine would be kinda cool and what a great caliber for a kid. Dang it Mainer, just when I thought my levergun corral was complete!

after these insane rimfire shortages, I'm eye-balling a complete switch to 30 carbine in both a revolver and a lever rifle. Speer makes a 110 grain bonded deep curl bullet that is as cheap as dirt. The bullet would place the same velocity out of a pistol, as a 22 magnum(1400 fps) and about 1800 fps out of a carbine rifle, but with a 50 percent heavier projectile. They will not expand on small game, but will expand on humans, lynx, wolf, ect. So for a winter rifle, camp meat rifle, camp meat pistol, home protection.......it would behave like an overgrown 22 magnum IMO. With the lower velocity, I don't see those little deepcurls having the ability to damage small game. I'd imagine they'd expand when they're supposed to, and not expand in the smaller stuff.