Thread: free float or not?

Default free float or not?

if you guys have a synthetic stock (ruger) that has some contact on the barrel would you bother to sand it? just curious i know synthetic dont change (shrink/swell) like wood stocks that would put pressure on the barrel so i was wondering if it was worth the trouble.

0.001" movement of the barrel = 1" at 100 yards. You don't want anything touching your barrel.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

Quote Originally Posted by cjustinm View Post
    if you guys have a synthetic stock (ruger) that has some contact on the barrel would you bother to sand it? just curious i know synthetic dont change (shrink/swell) like wood stocks that would put pressure on the barrel so i was wondering if it was worth the trouble.
    I've seen rifles shoot top notch with a barrel that free floats or a barrel that has consistent contact (both neutral and upward pressure), but never seen one shoot consistently with "some contact." I'd free float and go from there.
    Foolishness is a moral category, not an intellectual one.