Thread: Need help / advice on my boat trailer!! Stuck in my driveway!!

Default Need help / advice on my boat trailer!! Stuck in my driveway!!

Got home and noticed something smelling like smoke and saw that the bearings were all burned up and spindle was riding on the inside nut. Jacked the boat up and the tire was able to rock a lot back and forth without even unscrewing the tire... I'm lucky I didn't lose the tire on the road.

Anyway, I can't get the nut off the spindle/bearing because it's melted. Then, I figured that I'm going to likely need a new spindle anyway, so I might as well take off the Torsion Axle Suspension. Took the screw and nut off of that, and now I can't get it off. I'm not getting anywhere!!

I'm really new to all this stuff and just the fact I have the boat up like I do and got this far is new to me. SO, I need to get this thing fixed but I can't drive it anywhere!! Any advice on this Axle. It looks like some sort of C-clamp. Should the thing just slide off. Do I need to hit it off? Is it because of all the rust? Trailer is a King Saltwater, but I'll tell you those axles sure don't look like the handle the salt!! I plan on taking the axle to trailer shop and getting some help, repairing it in my driveway and then take it back to them to make sure it's done right (for my safety and others on the road). Then get the whole trailer looked over.

Here are the pics:
    photo 2.JPGphoto 4.JPG