Thread: Loss of power from my motor

Question Loss of power from my motor

I was hoping somebody could give me a clue as to what could possibly be going on with my motor. I have a 115 horse Mercury (2005) outboard on my 20 ft river boat. I took it out the other day and it just didn't have any power. I launched and let it warm up for a few minutes but when I gave it throttle it started sputtering. I thought I had rocks in the jet so I beached and took the jet off. Nothing. I had just added brand new gas (90 octane), new plugs, new fuel filter. I put the jet back on, switched gas tanks and it seemed to run better - I could finally get on step. It still didn't seem to have the power it should have though. I brought it home and checked the plugs- put dielectric grease on them, added seafoam to both tanks and I'll be taking it out tomorrow. Does anyone have any other thoughts as to what could be wrong? I'm no boat mechanic and i did not stay at a Holiday Inn last night. Any help, suggestions or constructive ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks everyone!

James
    -At what point does "against all enemies foreign and domestic" apply to politicians?

Check your reverse linkage, that was my problem.

Could your fuel filter be put in backwards?

Alaska - I wasn't born here, but I got here as soon as I could!

Fuel contamination? I've run into similar issues a few times over the years, and water in the fuel is often the culprit...especially if you have recently refueled.

It's possible that it is in limp mode due to a sensor malfunction as well if it is one of the newer engines.