Thread: Arrow Tooth Arrow Tooth Go Away!!!!

Unhappy Arrow Tooth Arrow Tooth Go Away!!!!

I have been fishing in Seward for a few years now and have never had this type of problem before. I got my butt completely beat up this weekend and finally got out of the bay for some white fish on Monday. Went toward driftwood bay and hit a few of my chicken holes over there. Lines went over the the boat once they hit the bottom we had fish on, four of them to be exact. I started to think it would be an early day. As the fish started to come up i noticed every single one of them were arrowtooth flounder. I have never had this problem before outside of the bay, and forty five Arrowtooth and zero (thats right Zero) Halibut were caught during my twelve hour getting beat up fishing adventure. When i have gotten into arrowtooth before, it usually is about two of them per one halibut. This seriously leads me to wonder a few things.

1. Is anybody else having this problem?

2. Have we over harvested halibut so much the arrowtooth are multiplying.

3. Is everyone killing them when they get on the boat and throwing them back?

Any info on these worthless fish would be greatly appreciated. I have never worked that hard for zero fish in my life. thanks again.

jojo

Cut them into strips, skin on, and use them for halibut bait.

Yeah, fish move around......I would have left for a different place that has "cleaner" halibut. Sometimes going just a couple hundred yards to some place deeper or shallower makes a huge difference. I know it sounds crazy, but it is true. I have caught great halibut out in front of Fault Point one day, and catch nothing but skates, dogfish, and arrows, then next. I have even caught nothing........They are decent bait for sure, but I have found that leaving is the best bet.

Alaska - I wasn't born here, but I got here as soon as I could!