Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why not start with Distance to Lands, then figure a charge weight?

Default Why not start with Distance to Lands, then figure a charge weight?

I'm relatively new to reloading, so forgive my ignorance. But, it seems like from my reading most folks work on a particular charge weight with their intended bullet & powder and then after they have that dialed in they go for bullet seating depth.

However, either on this forum or another, a lot of reloaders stated they got their most accuracy improvement from bullet seating depth, over things like brass prep, charge weight, sorting by weight, bullets & cases, .... If that is the case, why not work that up first & then go for the Optimum Charge Weight?

Confused, help me out you experienced reloaders.

Most ammunition tends to perform best when it's at 85-100 % (sometimes more) case volume. SO the reduction in powder volume is counter indicated when working up loads for the best accuracy. A well prepped case is a plus in the accuracy direction. Bullet seating directly affects case volume and pressures which equal velocity. The distance off the lands isn't always critical or factory ammo would perform very poorly as it isn't adjusted to each individual firearm, just SAMMI specs which are cut into chamber reamers. We know that commercial companies wouldn't use a dull reamer or resharpen one; RIGHT. Many factors effect the bullet/rifle performance, but most firearms have a factory ammo that will push accuracy to the average hunters limits. "ONCE" we get beyond that then we judge group performance with a set of dial calipers not how much meat it puts on the table.
    " Americans will never need the 2nd Amendment, until the government tries to take it away."

On the road of life..... Pot holes keep things interesting !