Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is your GPS Durable?

Default Is your GPS Durable?

I've been working with GPS units for over 20 years at work. However, I've never owned one. The only two times I personally needed a GPS were in the Arctic, but I'm finding a need for one in the mountains. At the end of the day a GPS, at least for recreational purposes, can tell you only two things: Where you are & Where do you want to go.

That being the case I feel that durability is the number one requirement for a GPS, so was just wondering if the one you have is durable? Here are the three hand-held GPS's that I am most familiar with.

Garmin eTrex Summit HC = Very durable (5 stars). Our crew here has used these for about 5 years straight, every work day. Most all of them are still going strong. Other Garmin eTrex's that have similar packaging, just a different color than the Summit HC, I'm quite sure are just as durable.

Garmin Dakota 10 = Pathetic (0 stars). Of the ones we used, probably had about 25% that did not make it to warantee, but the ones that did are starting to fail, just after two seasons of use. The back battery support reminds me of a Matel toy. I would not buy a new one for $20.

Magellan Explorist 100 = Durable (4 - 5 stars). I only used this for about two weeks but it was in some serious weather, what I call the hypothermia season where the weather hovers around 33 degrees F. I was impressed that it held up so well, with little to no protection. If I had used it a little more time with it, I would give it a 5 star & even considered purchasing one.

Trimble = 5 stars, Every Trimble product I've ever used was bomber, but most all of it was professional, survey-grade stuff, so really can't report on their more recreational-type equip. There was a story some years ago about a receiver attached to a boat getting sunk in the ocean over 100' down, after recovering the unit & drying off the exterior, they turned it on & fired it up like nothing happened.