Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: McClaren river bou hunt

Default McClaren river bou hunt

I have dc483 was wondering if it would be worth going down the river via jet boat around the end of August, I have little experience on Denali highway and was just looking for info to try and see if the river option is a good choice, thanks

I been researching the same thing. You will only be able to run down river about 10 miles in jet boat. To what they call the rock garden.
    Do I give my friends advice? Jesus, no. They wouldn't take advice from me. Nobody should take advice from me. I haven't got a clue about anything..

Rock garden huh? How bad could it be? Haha

Allen and Suzie are the owners of the Maclaren lodge and they do drop offs. Honestly it's not a bad price. He knows how to pick his way through the rock garden in his extreme shallow and he can get you much farther down. Call them up. Even if you don't want him as a transporter he is still a great resource to talk to. When in doubt talk to a local. Honestly, it all depends on where the caribou are. Talk to him and see if there has been caribou around.

Thanks 907, I have an extreme shallow also and will most likely pick my way down but thanks for the resource I will call and talk to them.

Be careful of that river. The rock garden starts to get going at 13 miles down then the intensity picks up at mile 17 and gets ridiculous. I've navigated my boat down to mile 20 fairly easily when the water was high but it can drop more than a foot in a few days so be aware. (It happened to me) The later you go in the season the better chance this could happen. There are a few large rocks that are just below the surface that show no sign of being there. If you give it a few days you'll see caribou, maybe sooner. Allen is a good resource, it's 20 bucks to launch your boat and the homemade pies are awesome. Good luck

Quote Originally Posted by AK_LOST View Post