Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kenai Drifting?

Default Kenai Drifting?

Hey all,

I just recently purchased a Hyde 17' drift boat and have absoulutely zero experience with a drift boat. I have used my powerboat in the lower kenai and the salt and have no issues.

I spoke with the seller tonight of my driftboat and he started talking about bends and tailcurves which really threw me for a loop. I purchased the boat for the wife and I for the reds and rainbows but now I am curious as to if I should hire a guide for my first dry run?

Anyone got any advice for the Kenai? I am more concerned with my family's safety and the seller has practically scared the **** out of me in regards to eddy's and banks......

Can anyone recommend a Kenai Drift guide I could contact to possibly "babysit" us on our first dry run with the boat?

Thanks and I apologize if I sould noobish but I have no clue if there isnt a 4 stroke involved,

Buster

bcdmahn@gci.net

Man, I have no experience in a drift boat, so maybe my comments are ill-informed....but I've drifted the upper Kenai in an inflatable a few times and it is about as tame as rivers come. I'm not referring to the canyon, of course, but from Kenai Lake down to Jim's Landing there are only a few tight corners and a handful of ripples. Unless drift boats are way more squirrely than I think they are, I think a guide would be unnecessary. That being said, hiring a guide would put you on the fast-track to really catching some rainbows. My catch rate was less than half of that of the boats around me when I first got out there, so in that regards you might want to look into it.

Buster,