Thread: Boat decal remover

Default Boat decal remover

So I've been contemplating the removal of my side decals on my Wooldridge. I have heard it can be a real bear of a job, and I have also heard of removers you can get to assist in the job.
    I figured there must be something out there readily available that would work.
    Seeing as how the decals are vinyl, I decided to try PVC (PolyVinylChloride) primer, PVC solvent cement and ABS solvent cement. I tried the ABS because as a plumber, I have seen what it will do to auto paint if you spill it on your rig......
    Anyway, to make a long story short, the PVC primer is amazing. Brush it on, wait a few minutes, peel off the old decal, glue residue and all. Cheap, very effective and readily available. I recomend a mask with a VOC filter and chemical resistant gloves to avoid frying your vitals.
    Never wrestle with a pig.
    you both get dirty;
    the Pig likes it.

Thanks for the tip. I've always heard its pretty tough going. So are ya planning on leaving it bare or putting on new vinyl?
    27' Wooldridge Super Sport Offshore Pilothouse PRIME TIME!
    Kodiak Custom Fishing Tackle Pro Staff
    Heavy Hitter Fishing Crew
    MMSI# 338232859

Quote Originally Posted by Rob B View Post
    Thanks for the tip. I've always heard its pretty tough going. So are ya planning on leaving it bare or putting on new vinyl?
    New vinyl. I sold my outboard jet Sport and bought a used Sport with an inboard/jet pump. The Red decals are a bit weathered, so I'm recovering with Black.
    you both get dirty;
    the Pig likes it.

I would use a heat gun/putty knife to start with and then primer to clean off the left over. I hate using stinky chemicals.

I want to remove the sticker "Weldcraft" on the transome it is right where the name of the boat would go. I have a half painted haul. Was your haul painted or just stickers? i dont want to wreck the Zolatone
    2005 20' Weldcraft Sabre XL 350 MP
    SD309 AT