Thread: 300 grain Bear Claws

Default 300 grain Bear Claws

Has anyone had any actual in the field experience with these from one of the 375s...either handloaded or Fed Premium?

That's what I used on kodiak last fall for my bear hunt. Bought and used them for sighting in, used the federal cape shok got them from cabelas.
    no problems here. Weatherby 375 h&h
    Attached Images Attached Images

No firsthand experience, but the Bear Claws and the A-Frames are personal choices of a couple of bear guides I know, though interesting enough several others prefer the Remington Corelokt. Lot of bear guides, especially the younger ones, are slowly switching to one or another of the 416's.

I've been handloading for the past fifteen years or so, but the last factory loads I used in the field were Federal's with 300grn Trophy Bonded Bearclaws (375H&H). The two in the photo (kind of blurry...sorry) were recovered from a bull moose I shot at around 100 yards. The first shot was directly broadside...the bull went down and thrashed around for ten seconds or so and then got up and started walking away. The second was a raking shot as it was going away from me. Both bullets were found laying in the chest cavity when I opened him up. Neither had penetrated the far side at all. You can see that both had expanded maximally. I've not weighed them, but I'm guessing they didn't lose too much. The bullets worked and got the job done, but my preference would have been a bit less expansion and greater penetration. I personally like bullets to expand, hold together and pass through for an exit wound. I've taken many bull moose since then, handloading 270grn X's and TSX's...all the bulls went down, stayed down, and I've never recovered a bullet.
    Attached Images Attached Images