Thread: Russian tonight?

Default Russian tonight?

I get out of work at around 6:00 or so and want to head out. I'm not really experienced, but I guess people get their limit, wait till midnight and get the next day's limit and go home, right? I can drive or you can drive. I've not been fishing in Alaska a whole lot and would really enjoy some company and a few pointers.

Gotta get fish in the freezer for wife and baby

I'll keep checking this. I guess i'm gonna head down by myself if I have to, any suggestions on what to bring?

Hip Waders, fly rod, spinning rod/reel, 44 magnum, ice chest, stringer...pink/blue/green pixies? (drinks/snacks of course)

Alaska - I wasn't born here, but I got here as soon as I could!

Quote Originally Posted by Mikon View Post
    I get out of work at around 6:00 or so and want to head out. I'm not really experienced, but I guess people get their limit, wait till midnight and get the next day's limit and go home, right? I can drive or you can drive. I've not been fishing in Alaska a whole lot and would really enjoy some company and a few pointers.

Gotta get fish in the freezer for wife and baby

I'll keep checking this. I guess i'm gonna head down by myself if I have to, any suggestions on what to bring?

Hip Waders, fly rod, spinning rod/reel, 44 magnum, ice chest, stringer...pink/blue/green pixies? (drinks/snacks of course)
    No pixies...the Russian is flies only.

expect slow fishing until the 2nd run of sockeye begin heading up river

Pixies are legit on the Russian. Dude was using them at the Falls a few weeks back was quite effective.

BUT. Not legal. Read up on the regs.
    We do not go to the green woods and crystal waters to rough it, we go to smooth it. We get it rough enough at home; in towns and cities; in shops, offices, stores, banks anywhere that we may be placed