Thread: Steering Cable

Unhappy Steering Cable

I'm just wondering what others have experieced with their steering cables sticking after sitting all winter. Is this a common issue? I've only owned a boat for a few years, so I'm still a rookie on the learn. I always greased the output cable shaft and grease the zerts on the outboard before I put her to bed. Nevertheless, every spring I had to monkey it loose to break free.

Well, this year I pulled the cable out of the outboard to see what the hell the problem is. What I found, is an inverted telescoping shaft that receives no lube in between the inner & outer shaft. The only way to clean and lube it is to remove it from the outboard. This will become an annual ceremony for me unless you guys know of something else that works.

Also, what type of lubricant would you use?

Please share your experience.

I got tired of messing with cable steering systems (for the reasons you mentioned) and installed a Baystar hydraulic system on my 17' Arima Sea Ranger. Most people told me that it wouldn't be worth the expense, and that the boat was too small for hydraulic steering. But I did it anyway (I get like that sometimes).

I must say that in addition to the benefit of not having to mess with the cable system any more, the steering is much better. After three hours fighting the wind and waves in PWS I used to be plumb wore out. Now I barely notice the steering at all. It's like switching from manual steering in an old truck (yes, I used to have an old '67 Ford) to a new luxo-cruiser with power steering.

Well... that might not help you out much, but that's how I dealt with it anyway.
    Quote Originally Posted by northwestalska
    ... you canít tell stories about the adventures you wished you had done!

Default Steering locking up