Thread: Finding Halibut out of Homer?

Default Finding Halibut out of Homer?

I have a smaller boat and fish K-Bay often for Halibut, I am curious if I am doing something wrong. I mark fish on my radar so thats usually where I start my drift and usually pick up a few smaller fish but nothing over 50lbs. Is there a depth or any structure that I should be looking out for? I have been told you can't see halibut on a fish finder but I figure if there are fish on the screen there is a chance for a halibut. Can anyone help?

I have been fishing out of Homer for 5 yrs two weeks every summer and I have not hit a 50lb fish yet. Its a great place to fish and big fish are taken there for sure. A 50lb fish is a great fish. You are not going to go out and get a 50 every time you go out unless you go a long ways out. Just my .02. I am a green horn compared to many here

You can see halibut on a fishfinder, but frequently they are so close to the bottom you can't really separate them. The closer to Homer you have to stay, the less water you can fish, so the fewer fish you will likely hit. But there are fish in there. If you can get out 12-14 miles, head toward Augustine, you should find some chickens. I have fished a bunch of years out of Homer, always with friends on the boat, and most years don't get more than a handful of 50 lb fish, even running out 30+ miles. Hang in there.

I fish out inthe fingers a lot and in other spots out in the middle inlet.
    We don't often catch fish over 50# either. I don't target them specifically because those 20-40# fish are darn good eating and I don't mind catching them.
    One thing I have heard works well is to use a whole salmon carcass or a whole head. Make the bait big enough the little guys can't fit the whole thing in their mouths. Whenever I have tried this all I get is great big skates But certainly not the chicken halibut we were catching on the other rods.